PRESERVING SITES AND SPECIES

Integrating indigenous knowledge to contemporary forest management practices in Myanmar

The forested areas around  the Hkakaborazi Landscape, in Kachin State in the northernmost part of Myanmar, are home to a significant population of Rawang people. The group largely leads a subsistence lifestyle through swidden agriculture and the use of non-timber forest products. The Rawang have historically had a harmonious relationship with their environment, contributing to preserving the forest and its ecosystems. Their current status in the forest is now tense due to a modern management framework which does not fully recognize their traditional rights, practices and way of life and thus threatens their livelihoods.

 

As the Government of Myanmar is in the process of preparing a nomination for the Hkakaborazi Landscape to the World Heritage List, the need to integrate traditional practices and involvement of local communities is a priority issue.

 

This is why the UNESCO World Heritage Centre, in partnership with Fondation Iris, started a project seeking  :

 

  • to generate understanding about indigenous knowledge on forest management among the Rawang in Myanmar,
  • to identify obstacles for the communities to practice their indigenous knowledge,
  • to provide recommendations for policy makers to utilize indigenous knowledge in contemporary forest management practices.

The future of the world's high mountain

In 2010, the Sustainable Summits conference was launched by the American Alpine Club with the primary goal of sharing solutions for managing human waste in the high mountain peaks around the world. At the Golden, Colorado conference in 2014, and again in 2016 at Aoraki / Mount Cook National Park, New Zealand, the scope was broadened to include the impacts of climate change and access issues on the high mountains.  These conferences have drawn representation from every continent.

 

In 2018, for three days, land managers, researchers, representatives from NGOs and non-profit organizations, outdoor companies, guides and mountaineers from around the world will join together in Chamonix-Mont-Blanc.  They will share their knowledge and experience and propose solutions for the future of our high mountains.

 

Fondation Iris financially support this event.

Protecting the lemurs of Madagascar with IUCN

Charismatic symbol of the island-continent, you can only find lemurs in Madagascar. These past few years, deforestation and poaching have made lemurs the most endangered group of mammals on earth with 99% of the species – estimated at more than 100 – in critical danger.

 

The action plan for lemurs of the IUCN Species Survival Commission's Primate Specialist Group has identified 30 primary sites for conservation operations. The programme “SOS Lemur” closely lines up with this plan.

 

Four of these projects are supported financially by Fondation Iris.

Inventory of glacial lakes at risk in Nepal

A very violent earthquake struck Nepal on the 25th April 2015 – 7.8 on Richter’s scale. Since then, it has been followed by many after-shocks. All over the region, earthquakes have renewed natural hazards: avalanches, landslide, rock falls, glacial lakes breach…

 

The Nepalese government’s hydrological and meteorological service (DHM) has asked the "Des Géorisques et Des Hommes" association to take urgent action to carry out diagnostic visits and to estimate and prioritize the risk of 20 to 25 lakes which are considered at high risk of rupture.

 

Fondation Iris is supporting this study which will take place end of summer 2015.

Seventh European Botanic Gardens Congress

The National Natural History Museum of Paris,  an institution recognized for the excellence of its expertise, and its program of conservation, research and dissemination of scientific knowledge, will host the Seventh European Botanic Gardens Congress for the first time in France. It will be held in Paris during July 6-10, 2015.

 

Fondation Iris provides financial support to strengthen the organization of the congress which aims at protecting plant biodiversity and highlighting the role of botanical gardens in plant conservation and  biodiversity preservation awareness.

Sustainable tourism for UNESCO World Heritage

Sustainable planning and management of tourism is one of the most pressing challenges concerning the future of the UNESCO World Heritage Convention.

 

Site managers in particular often lack the tools and know-how to effectively manage tourism to maximize its benefits and minimize its negative impacts.

 

Through a partnership with UNESCO, Fondation Iris  will help provide the tools that enable a growing number of World Heritage Site communities to make positive changes to the way they manage tourism by spreading evolutive and creative ideas.

Visual interpretations around the Villa Viardot in Bougival

© FRANÇOISE BRENCKMANN

In 2013, Fondation Iris funded an outdoor art exhibition in the Park of the Villa Viardot in Bougival, France. Located in front of the house where Bizet composed Carmen, at the foot of the "Hill of the Impressionists", this 4-hectare property, with a great landscape and cultural value, is the setting of the villa of  Pauline Viardot singer, and of the dacha of  Ivan Turgenev writer.

 

The works by the Swiss artist Andreas Kressig, echoing music and safeguard of the site, invited visitors to better explore the park.

 

A wardrobe, placed in the rose garden is exposed to the weather, in the same way the villa is abandoned, waiting for a rescue. A wall is studded with DVDs  with rainbow reflections: musical footsteps reminiscent of the musicians who lived and played in the Villa. A necklace of golden safety barriers surrounding the villa: transfiguration barriers that pass from a public protection function to the defense of the site at risk function.

Fondation Iris, 40 avenue Hoche, 75008 - Paris, France

PRÉSERVATION DES SITES

ET DES ESPÈCES

Intégration du savoir autochtone dans les pratiques de gestion de forêts  au Myanmar

Les zones forestières du paysage de Hkakaborazi, dans l'État de Kachin, dans la partie la plus septentrionale du Myanmar, abritent une importante population de Rawang. Les Rawang ont historiquement eu une relation harmonieuse avec leur environnement, contribuant à la préservation de la forêt et de ses écosystèmes. Leur situation actuelle dans la forêt est maintenant tendue en raison d'un cadre de gestion moderne qui ne reconnaît pas pleinement leurs droits traditionnels, leurs pratiques et leur mode de vie et menace ainsi leurs moyens de subsistance.

 

Alors que le gouvernement du Myanmar est en train de préparer une proposition d'inscription du paysage Hkakaborazi sur la liste du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, la nécessité d'intégrer les pratiques traditionnelles et la participation des communautés locales est une question prioritaire.

 

C'est pourquoi le Centre du Patrimoine Mondial de l'UNESCO, en partenariat avec la Fondation Iris, a entrepris un projet  dont les objectifs sont les suivants :

 

  • amélioration de la compréhension des connaissances autochtones concernant la gestion des forêts au sein des communautés Rawang,
  • identification des obstacles à la mise en œuvre de ces connaissances,
  • recommandation aux décideurs afin d'exploiter ces connaissances.

 

L’avenir des hautes montagnes du monde

Née aux États-Unis en 2010 pour donner voix à la mobilisation autour des impacts humains sur les glaciers du Denali (Alaska), la Sustainable Summits Conference est passée en 2014 par le Colorado puis en 2016 par la Nouvelle Zélande et le Aoraki /Mount Cook National Park.

 

En 2018, la quatrième édition se veut à la fois inscrite dans la continuité des fondateurs et dans le renouvellement des thèmes interrogés. Pendant trois jours, des gestionnaires de site de haute montagne, des alpinistes, des chercheurs, des acteurs du monde associatif et des entreprises innovantes du monde entier se retrouveront à Chamonix. Ils partageront leurs expériences et proposeront des solutions pour l’avenir des hautes montagnes.

 

La Fondation Iris soutient financièrement cet évènement.

Protection des lémuriens de Madagascar avec l'UICN

Emblèmes charismatiques de l'île-continent, on ne  trouve les lémuriens qu'à Madagascar. La déforestation et le braconnage de ces dernières années ont fait des lémuriens le groupe de mammifères le plus menacé de la planète avec 99 % des espèces – estimées à plus de 100 – en danger critique.

 

Le Plan d’action pour les lémuriens du Groupe de spécialistes des primates de la Commission de la Sauvegarde des Espèces (CSE) de l’UICN a identifié 30 sites prioritaires pour des activités de conservation. Le programme SOS - Sauvons nos Lémuriens s'aligne étroitement sur ce plan.

 

La Fondation Iris soutient financièrement 4 de ces projets.

Inventaire des lacs glaciaires à risques au Népal

Un très violent séisme a frappé le Népal le 25 avril 2015 (7,8 sur l’échelle de Richter). Il a été suivi depuis par de nombreuses répliques. Sur tout le territoire, les tremblements de terre ont réactivé les risques naturels : avalanches, glissements de terrain, chutes de blocs, ruptures de lacs glaciaires...

 

Le service d’hydrologie et de météorologie du gouvernement népalais (DHM) a demandé à l’association Des Géorisques et Des Hommes d'intervenir en urgence pour estimer et prioriser le risque sur 20 à 25 lacs actuellement considérés comme à fort risque de rupture et effectuer des visites de diagnostic.

 

La Fondation Iris soutient cette étude qui aura lieu en fin d'été 2015.

Septième Congrès des Jardins Botaniques européens

Le Muséum national d'Histoire Naturelle de la ville de Paris,  dont l’objet est la recherche scientifique, l’expertise, l’enseignement et la formation dans les sciences de la Vie et de la Terre, va, pour la première fois en France, organiser le Septième Congrès des Jardins Botaniques européens. Il aura lieu du 6 au 10 juillet 2015.

 

La Fondation Iris apporte une aide financière pour conforter l’organisation du congrès qui vise la protection de la biodiversité végétale et la mise en valeur du rôle des Jardins Botaniques dans la conservation des plantes et la sensibilisation à la préservation de la biodiversité.

Tourisme durable pour le Patrimoine Mondial de l'UNESCO

La planification et la gestion durable du tourisme est un des défis les plus urgents pour le futur de la Convention du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO.

 

Les responsables de sites n'ont souvent pas en leur possession les outils et le savoir faire pour gérer efficacement le tourisme, optimiser ses effets et minimiser l'impact négatif.

 

En partenariat avec l'UNESCO, la Fondation Iris  aide financièrement à développer les outils qui permettront de changer la manière de gérer le tourisme sur les sites du patrimoine mondial ; ces outils collaboratifs et évolutifs ont pour but de propager les idées innovantes et les expériences concluantes auprès des instances  locales et nationales chargées de la gestion des sites.

Interprétations plastiques autour de la Villa Viardot à Bougival

© FRANÇOISE BRENCKMANN

En 2013 la Fondation Iris a financé la mise en valeur artistique du Parc paysager de la Villa Viardot où a lieu le Festival de Musique de Bougival,  organisé par l'association des Amis de Georges Bizet.  Située en face de la maison où Bizet a composé Carmen,  au pied de la "colline des Impressionnistes", cette propriété de 4 hectares, d'une grande valeur paysagère et culturelle,  est l'écrin de la Villa de la cantatrice Pauline  Viardot, et de la Datcha de l'écrivain Ivan Tourgueniev.

 

Les trois oeuvres réalisées  par l'artiste suisse Andreas Kressig, faisant écho  à la sauvegarde du site, ont invité les visiteurs à mieux découvrir le parc.

 

Une armoire, placée dans la roseraie, est exposée aux intempéries, à l’image de la Villa, comme laissée à l’abandon, dans l’attente d’un sauvetage. Un muret  constellé de DVD aux reflets arc-en-ciel évoque des traces musicales des musiciens ayant vécu et joué dans la Villa. Des barrières de sécurité dorées  forment un collier autour de la Villa et passent d'une fonction de protection du public à celle de défense du site en péril.

Fondation Iris, 40 avenue Hoche, 75008 - Paris, France