SCIENTIFIC EXPEDITIONS

Environmental expedition in West Papua

The second “Science and Images” expedition organized by Fondation Iris took place in West Papua during winter 2016-2017.

 

The primary objective of this expedition was to highlight the extraordinary biodiversity of the regions and to identify the dangers which threaten it. The aim was to raise awareness about the importance of the preservation of this natural one-of-a-kind heritage. Watch the videos.

Dallol, the search of the first moments of life

From January 12 to January 27, 2016, the “Aux Origines du Monde” association organizes a mission on Dallol’s site in the Danakil depression in the north-east of Ethiopia. This site is considered as having one of the most extreme environments on earth. Even though macroscopic life seems absent on this site, scientists speculate that microbial life has developed there.

 

Purificación López-García, research director at  CNRS and affiliated to Université Paris-Sud in Orsay, will be the scientific coordinator of the project. She will be accompanied by 8 other scientists. Olivier Grunewald is going to produce a photo report and documentary on the site.

 

Today, this unique place is at the centre of mining concessions which are exploiting potassium hydroxide and can deteriorate the environment in the short-term. In order to raise the Ethiopian authorities’ awareness of the necessary protection of the site, Fondation Iris has decided to support this scientific study and to develop its media profile.

Expedition in the Lesser Sunda islands

Fondation Iris organises “Science and Images” expeditions whose purpose is the study of sites at risk or ones with large biodiversity in order to promote their preservation.

 

The first expedition took place in the Lesser Sunda Islands aboard a traditional Indonesian boat during summer 2015. This string of islands which stretches from the East of Bali to the confines of the Timor possesses a wealth of wildlife sites and cultural diversity. It is a paradise for naturalists and ethnologists.

 

The expedition participants’ main purpose was to highlight the various environmental issues which these regions are confronted to today.

 

The log books of this expedition are available.

Scientific Mission to the Center of the Earth

The mission, led by MAGMA EXPLORATION, meets the request  issued by the Volcanological Observatory of Goma in the Democratic Republic of Congo, to restart, as soon as possible, scientific research and monitoring of Nyiragongo, a beautiful stratovolcano that features the world's largest lava lake,  in the Virunga National Park inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage list since 1979.

 

The main purpose of the mission, expected to start in late June, early July 2015, is to resume scientific research with the primary goal of improving eruption forecasts in order to send alerts and protect local populations. This better understanding of volcanic activity is also expected to promote a localised and controlled tourism  and contribute towards regular financing for the maintenance of the property which is home to a unique biodiversity, including endemic species and rare and endangered species such as the mountain gorilla.

 

Fondation Iris, 40 avenue Hoche, 75008 - Paris, France

EXPÉDITIONS SCIENTIFIQUES

Expédition en Papouasie Occidentale

La deuxième  expédition "Sciences et Images" de la Fondation Iris  a eu lieu en Papouasie occidentale entre décembre 2016 et janvier 2017. Partie de l'archipel des Raja Ampat célèbre pour son extraordinaire biodiversité marine, elle a rejoint ensuite la baie de Triton au sud de la Papouasie occidental.

 

Réunissant scientifiques et artistes dans une démarche de veille environnementale, son objectif principal était de mettre en valeur la biodiversité extraordinaire des régions traversées et d'identifier les dangers qui la menacent, dans le but de sensibiliser à l’importance de la conservation de ce patrimoine naturel hors du commun. Regarder les vidéos de l'expédition.

Dallol, la quête des premiers instants de la vie

L’Association "Aux Origines du Monde" organise du 12 au 27 janvier 2016 une mission sur le site de Dallol dans la dépression Danakil au nord-est  de l'Éthiopie, considéré comme l'un des environnements les plus extrêmes sur Terre. Bien que la vie macroscopique semble absente de ce site, les scientifiques de ce projet émettent l'hypothèse qu'une vie microbienne s'y soit développée.

 

Purificación López-García, directrice de recherche au CNRS et attachée à l'Université Paris-Sud à Orsay, sera la coordinatrice scientifique du projet. Elle sera accompagnée de 8 autres scientifiques. Un reportage photo ainsi qu’un documentaire seront réalisés sur le terrain par Olivier Grunewald.

 

Ce lieu unique est aujourd’hui au milieu de concessions minières pour l’exploitation de la potasse, ce qui peut à très court terme dégrader cet environnement. La Fondation Iris a décidé d’aider cette étude scientifique, ainsi que sa mise en avant médiatique, de manière à sensibiliser les autorités éthiopiennes à la nécessaire protection du site.

Expédition dans les petites îles de la Sonde

La Fondation Iris organise des expéditions  "Sciences et Images"   dont l’objectif est l’étude de sites fragiles ou de sites à forte biodiversité afin d’en promouvoir la préservation.

 

La première de ces expéditions a eu lieu dans les petites îles de la Sonde durant l’été 2015 à bord d’un bateau traditionnel indonésien. La richesse des sites naturels et la diversité culturelle de ce chapelet d’îles qui s’étirent à l’est de Bali jusqu’aux confins de Timor sont un sujet d’étude à part entière, un paradis pour les naturalistes aussi bien que pour les ethnologues.

 

Les participants à cette expédition avaient pour but principal de mettre en évidence les diverses problématiques environnementales auxquelles ces régions sont confrontées aujourd’hui.

 

Les carnets de bord de cette expédition sont disponibles.

Mission scientifique au centre de la Terre

Cette mission, menée par l'association MAGMA EXPLORATION, répond à la demande d’assistance de l’Observatoire Volcanologique de Goma en République Démocratique du Congo, pour relancer au plus vite la recherche et la surveillance du Nyiragongo dans le Parc National des Virunga inscrit au Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO depuis 1979.

 

L’objectif central de la mission, prévue fin juin début juillet 2015, est de reprendre la recherche scientifique avec comme but principal, l’amélioration des moyens de prévisions d’éruption afin d’alerter et de protéger les populations locales. Cette meilleure appréhension de l’activité volcanique devrait également permettre la promotion d’un tourisme localisé et contrôlé qui pourrait accroître les recettes et contribuer à un financement régulier pour le maintien du Parc, National en général qui abrite une biodiversité exceptionnelle, notamment des espèces endémiques et des espèces rares et mondialement menacées comme le gorille des montagnes.

 

Fondation Iris, 40 avenue Hoche, 75008 - Paris, France